Records Record

Spinning tunes —

the pops and crackles catapult me back

I am a young girl singing to my dolls

I am even younger, listening to stories

read by a needle scratching through vinyl

I bounce back and forth

between my first ten years

dressed in costume

acting out musicals

Trying to keep up with that clever

Fox in Sox

over and over

never quite getting it right

but never as bad as

Bartholomew and his Oobleck

who accompanied rainy days

for perspective

These are the records of my childhood

via Daily Prompt Record

Leave a Reply

