Amidah

via Daily Prompt: Someday

I stand

Feet and legs pressed together

Arms at my side

Like an arrow

 

My chest opens

I feel my shoulders expand

As if I had wings

Unfurling

 

I stand

Feet and legs pressed together

Hands turned outward, open

Ready to receive

 

My heart opens

I feel it receive and return

A divine hand operating

The controls

 

I stand

Feet and legs pressed together

Arms slightly raised

Like an angel

 

My head expands

I feel the connectedness of all

As if I am part

Of a greater design

 

I bend my knees

Still pressed together

I bow

The universe bows with me –

Grateful –

And when we rise

Will we be ready?

Not just to ask –

but to become our own answer?

 

We can be the messengers

The better angels

The actors on the stage of loving-kindness

 

If only we could stop waiting for

Someday.

 

(note: The Amidah, or Standing Prayer, is the core of Jewish prayer services. Most of it is recited silently, though there are communal sections. It is traditional to stand as described in the poem in an attempt to emulate the angels.)

Leave a Reply

