You Say…

You say you are my friend

but your vote spews your truth

Like venom

To the heart of me.

 

You say you respect me

But your vote makes me wonder:

Am I an anomalous token?

Taken out at parties like decoration

or proof

That “Some of my best friends are _______.”

 

You say you admire me

My strength

But your actions

Your words – followed by “just kidding” and a

too-wide smile –

Can be seen as a cheap attempt to

Weaken my resolve, while also

Creating for me

Another barrier

Another unsafe harbor

Another “chance” to show my strength

Creating the need for me to overcome

An obstacle

Placed

by you.

 

Leave a Reply

